Resurrection 60

This is a chapter of the book I am writing for NaNoWriMo. If you want to read it from the start, click here for the chapter index.

Interview II

“So did Suzanna and the baby make it to Vanceburg?” Dalton leaned back as he said this, dropping his pen on the notepad.

“Yup, they called as soon as they arrived. They’re fine.”

“That’s good. I was worried. How’s she holding up?”

“Seems to be doing well. I haven’t talked to her since last night. Hey, that reminds me, I should probably get going before too long. I need to be at the church this morning.”

“Oh, as soon as we’re done I’ll have one of the men take you over.” Dalton didn’t intend to let J.W. go anywhere. “How are you two holding up with the new baby?”

“We’re not getting any sleep, that’s for sure.”

“Having a new baby is hard,” Dalton continued, still leaning back in his chair. “When my youngest was born, it was tough on our marriage. Throughout the pregnancy, Betsy was sick, then once the baby came, she didn’t have any time for me. It was like I didn’t even have a wife any more.”

“I know what you mean, but Suze and I seem to be getting our marriage back.” agreed J.W.

“Well, I gave into my baser instincts. There was a family friend, a neighbor. Over the months we began talking. She seemed to understand, anyway, we ended up having an affair. I didn’t set out to do it, it just kinda happened.” Dalton was making it up as he went along. “You can see how that could happen, right J.W.?”

“Well, yeah, I mean everyone is tempted, we just try to overcome…”

“See that’s it. We’re all tempted. Betsy and I got counseling and we worked through it. Of course I wasn’t a preacher. I imagine something like that would ruin a preacher’s career.”

“Not necessarily their career,” J.W. added, “but it would probably end their ministry at whatever church they were pastoring. The Methodists have a program to restore marriages and ministers who stray.”

“J.W. I need to talk to you about something. Now understand I don’t judge. I just need the facts so I can piece things together.”

J.W. was taken back by Dalton’s suddenly serious tone. “OK…”

“Look we’re all human and things happen. Having a new baby is hard on a marriage. I guess what I’m saying is we know about the affair.”

“What affair? You think Suze or I were having an affair? Who with?” J.W. sat upright.

“Look, we already know you were having an affair with Polly Henderson. I just need to ask you a couple questions about it, then we can move on. No need for anyone outside this room to hear about it.”

“I was NOT having an affair, not with Polly, not with anyone.” J.W. felt his anger rise.

“Well, so you say. I can understand why it would be hard to admit. Why would people have seen you together at the Laurel Dam Friday night?” Dalton lied.

“I was home, with Suze. I was not having an affair and I was not anywhere with anyone else. What are you trying to do here?”

“So if we found your fingerprints on Polly’s Mustang, how would they have gotten there?” This was a common police interrogation ruse, to say they have evidence and then let the guilty man try to come up with an explanation.

“I have no idea,” J.W. thought for a minute, “I’ve never been in her Mustang, I don’t think I’ve ever touched it.”

“So you’re saying your fingerprints were what, planted?”

“Look, I don’t know anything about fingerprints, but she got that car recently and I’ve never touched it.”

“Try to be calm,” encouraged Dalton, “I’m just trying to figure out what happened here.”

“What’s this got to do with Polly?” J.W. was still angry.

“Polly was murdered Friday night. Somebody tried to make it look like a suicide. We found your fingerprints in her car and the DNA swab I took from you Friday is a preliminary match to the DNA we found on the body.” Lying in an interview was standard procedure for cops in the US.

“Wait, Polly is dead? How?” J.W. reacted as if he’d been punched in the stomach.

“Well, why don’t you tell me. We have your DNA on the body, your fingerprints. What happened, things get out of hand? It happens. It can be an accident. You’re having sex, she wants it a little rough, things happen.”

“Chief, I don’t know what you have, but I have never had sex with Polly and I certainly didn’t kill her.” J.W.’s thoughts were jumbled. He was trying to grasp his friend, Suzanna’s best friend, was dead and he was being accused of the murder.

“Look, if it was just an accident, just tell me. An accident is just an accident. You can walk away from this.”

J.W. took a second to collect his thoughts. An officer was murdered. He’s now telling me Polly was murdered. Dalton thinks I did this and I am under arrest and I didn’t even realize it.

“I think I want a lawyer,” J.W. announced.

“Do you really think that’s necessary, I’m sure we can clear this up right now…” Dalton counseled.

“I want a lawyer and I’m not saying another word until I have one.”

“Well, it means I’ll have to put you in a cell, do you want to be put in jail?”

“No, Chief, I don’t. But if you’re thinking I killed Polly, or your officer, then I need a lawyer. I didn’t do this, I don’t see how you could think I did, but I need to protect myself.”

“OK, last chance, once your lawyer gets here, it’s all downhill.”

“Then I guess it’s all downhill.”

 

 

 

3 Comments on “Resurrection 60”

  1. ron877 says:

    “Lying in an interview was standard procedure for cops in the US.” As a “permanent expat” with experiences living in Europe and Southeast Asia, I would delete the last three words of the quote.

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

