Resurrection 50

This is a chapter of the book I am writing for NaNoWriMo. If you want to read it from the start, click here for the chapter index.

Baby Clothes

Maddy climbed into bed with Tom and Rachel just after 7am. She was awake and wanted them to be awake too. Rachel tried to cuddle her and get her back to sleep, but it was no use. They played a bit in the bed, and Tom was first to sit up.

“I suppose you want pancakes.” He said, smiling at Maddy.

Maddy jumped down from the bed and began marching around the room. “PANCAKES! PANCAKES! PANCAKES!”

Soon they could hear Taylor join in from downstairs.

“OK, OK,” said Tom. He stood up. “Go downstairs and get out the stuff, and I’ll be down in a minute.”

Maddy scurried out of the room. Tom made pancakes most every Saturday morning for the girls.

He looked at Rachel, still covered up. “You want to go back to sleep? I can take care of the girls.”

“No, I need to get up. I need to go to the store, then the girls have gymnastics this afternoon. Plus I want pancakes too. Will you make me your sugar bacon?”

Tom made bacon with a blend of spices and sugar that Rachel enjoyed. She pretended she didn’t know how to make it herself, though she had seen him make it hundreds of times. It made her feel loved every time he made it, so they both tolerated her ruse.

“You know, this isn’t helping the ‘health routine’ you proposed last night.”

“Well, maybe we can work off the calories again tonight…” Rachel tried to be seductive, but her hair was a tangled mess and it came off more as comedy.

“Maybe, once you shower of course.”

“Of course,” replied Rachel.

Tom brushed his teeth and headed downstairs. Maddy was at the kitchen island and had already gotten out the mix, mixing bowl, milk, egg and electric beater. She was kneeling on one of the bar stools ready to go. Tay was lying on the floor in the adjoining family room watching cartoons.

Tom grabbed a large frying pan.

“You girls want sugar bacon too?”

Maddy jumped down from the stool. “BACON! BACON! BACON!” she chanted as she marched around.

Tom and Maddy mixed the batter while the bacon cooked. Rachel came down, looking just a little less disheveled, and sat at the bar sipping her coffee, watching as they cooked. She could barely believe the blessing their lives had been. Tom was a kind, caring man, a good attentive father and a wonderful husband.

Once the food was cooked, the girls retreated back into the family room to watch cartoons while they ate.

“So what’s on the agenda?” Asked Rachel, finally shaking off the remaining cobwebs.

“Thought I might go to Lowes and pick up some paving stones for the back. I should be able to get the walkway done today.” Replied Tom.

“I also might mess with my telescope and camera. There’s supposed to be that meteor shower tonight, thought I might get some pictures.”

“Looks like rain,” noted Rachel.

Tom checked the weather on his phone. “Looks like rain this afternoon, but clearing by 9pm or so. I can probably still get the walkway done. I can’t take the telescope in the truck in the rain. Can I take your Denali tonight?”

“Sorry, the girls have that birthday party at the Corbin bowling alley tonight. I’m taking them, the Peterson kids, Alley and Brooke. I’m full up.” Rachel answered.

“Oh, well, maybe I can get some pics here from the house.” Tom’s disappointment showed in his voice. Astronomy was a hobby he truly enjoyed. He liked the quiet, the solitude. Meteor showers like the one tonight were a rare occurrence and he wanted to get some amazing pictures. He preferred to go to Queen Mountain, a high hill outside of Silerville for his star gazing. The light pollution was less and he could easily get a 360 degree view without obstruction.

“This afternoon, after gymnastics, I also wanted to drop some baby clothes off for Claire. I found a whole box in the attic. Don’t know if I’ll have time though, I still have to buy birthday gifts from the girls and wrap them.”

“I can do that for you, hon. I’d like to see J.W. again anyway. I’ll throw the box in the back of the truck and drop it by before I go to Corbin.”

 

 

4 Comments on “Resurrection 50”

  1. ron877 says:

    Good save Tom. Send Rachael to the showers. In a choice between pancakes and recreational exercise, the kids shouldn’t be disappointed. But sugar bacon??? Even my junk food metabolism shudders.

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

