NaNoWriMo Diary – Day 19

I wrote a couple thousand words today, but it is awkward. I’m getting to a place where I need to be wrapping up threads, figuring out where storylines need to end and where I need to continue to keep the reader in suspense.

If you’ve been reading along you may have noticed that most of the chapters could be put into a different order and the story would still flow. Most of the chapters are a little mini-story in themselves.

But now I have to start wrapping things up and I’m struggling about what pieces go where.

I decided a week or two ago that I was going to wrap in 50K-ish words. I don’t want to make this overlong. NaNo is enough of a challenge without thinking “well, I’ll do 60K.” I’ve learned in many years of writing copy that done is better than perfect.

So my writing has slowed as I have considered what needs to be said and what doesn’t. I’m getting there.

I appreciate all of you who are playing along at home. Truly, your words of encouragement are precious. I think the story is good, the writing is mediocre, but the re-write(s) will be better than average. That’s about all I can hope for with my first foray into a full length novel.

THANK YOU!

8 Comments on “NaNoWriMo Diary – Day 19”

  1. I think it’s been great thus far. Lots of angles and twists. I’m curious to see where they all lead.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ron877 says:

    Yep, there are a lot of mini-stories. If reader interest is a gauge of good writing, your writing is above mediocre by quite a bit. And I am a reader that reads and writes reviews daily across all genre.

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

