Resurrection 34

This is a chapter of the book I am writing for NaNoWriMo. If you want to read it from the start, click here for the chapter index.

Car Trouble

Polly locked up The Democrat leaving, at 4:45pm. She was supposed to stay until 5, but she couldn’t stand waiting another fifteen minutes. All she could think about was John Marcus and what might happen tonight. Speeding home, she dialed The Wayside from her phone.

“The Wayside Motel,” answered Candace.

“Hey Candy, this is Polly Henderson.”

“Oh hi Miss Henderson. Needing a room?”

“Is 12 or 14 open tonight?” asked Polly.

“14 has been booked all week, but 12 is open right now. You need it all night or just for a nap?” Candace asked without a hint of judgment. Candace knew exactly what the rooms were used for, and didn’t care. It was a paycheck.

“Yes, I would like to get 12 for a few hours tonight. I’ll be at Dino’s drinking and it will give me a place to sober up a bit before driving home.” Polly still felt as if she needed to make excuses for the time she spent at The Wayside.

“You know we don’t take reservations, but we’re pretty empty. I’ll keep 12 open for you.”

“Oh, thank you! See you later.” Polly ended the call.

Polly then dialed Suzanna.

“Hey Pol, getting ready for your big date with that mysterious man tonight?” asked Suzanna when she answered the phone.

“Hey, driving home now. I’m so excited.”

“Why you get so worked up about guys you don’t even know yet is beyond me.” Suzanna, however, did know. While she hadn’t dated much, she loved the idea of going out with a new guy. The infatuation, the hopeful expectation.

“But it’s so much fun!” replied Polly. She was giddy.

“I’ve excited for you. Details later? Claire just woke up.”

“I’ll call you the minute I get home.” promised Polly.

“Well be safe, talk later.”

“I will, girl scout’s honor.” replied Polly, disconnecting.

Polly sped the Mustang and arrived at her house in record time. “Ok,” she thought, appraising herself in the full length bedroom mirror,”My hair looks good, but he’s already seen me in this outfit.” She checked her watch. “It’s just now 5, I have time to shower.”

Polly was careful not to get her hair wet as she showered, putting her long, curly blonde hair in a clip. She wanted to make sure she was fresh for John, but her hair took ages to dry properly.

Stepping out of the shower, she dried off, then admired her naked body in the mirror. At 35, her body was still tight and petite. When she tanned, she always wore her panties so she had crisp tan lines. Men liked that. She had just gotten a new mani-pedi on Wednesday and the white of her French manicure was a nice contrast to her dark skin.

Going into the bedroom, she opened her lingerie drawer. She planned to wear her favorite little black dress and her knock-off Louboutin black platform pumps.  John was tall enough the heels would still leave him towering over her. Even in 4″ heels, she would only stand 5’7″.

“Black or red?” Polly said, appraising her options. “I think red tonight.” She pulled out matching lace bra and panties. The bra was a push-up, but she didn’t really need it. It did give her better cleavage and the LBD she was going to wear was low cut.

She pulled on the panties and laid the bra on the bed, pushing aside the tousled covers. Polly didn’t ever make her bed. Going into her closet, she pulled out her dress, checked it for wrinkles, and laid it on the bed as well.

Polly went back into the bath, and applied her evening makeup-a darker lipstick, heavier shadow. “Damn, I look good.”

She fixed her hair and was just starting to get dressed when her phone buzzed. The caller ID just said Cincinnati, OH. It was 6:30.

Normally she wouldn’t have answered, but she had given John her number. Her heart sank a bit, thinking he was going to cancel.

“Hello?” she said.

“Polly? This is John Marcus from the gas station. Listen, I have car trouble and I’m not going to be able to make it tonight.” Tab tried to sound as non-threatening as possible.

“Oh, no, I’m sorry.” She thought he was giving her the brush off.

“I know it sounds like I’m just ditching you, but I still want to have dinner, just not tonight. I was doing some sight seeing before our date and the car just quit. The wrecker’s here and loading up the car now.”

Tab had planned this carefully. She needed to believe she was the one in control.

“Damn AAA sent a wrecker from Williamsburg, I guess maybe it was the closest. Now I have to figure out a way to get back up to corbin. Maybe I can pay him to run me back up there once he drops off the car. But I’ll be in Corbin all weekend, maybe we can meet tomorrow? Wrecker guy said they can’t work on it until Monday, but maybe I can get a rental.”

“Where exactly are you?” Polly asked, taking the bait.

“I’m on 25W at Bee Creek road. I was heading out to see the dam and the lake out here.”

“What if I just come down there and pick you up? We can have dinner and then I can drop you at your hotel. There’s an Enterprise in Corbin and you can get a car there tomorrow.” Polly suggested.

Tab smiled. His plan had worked perfectly.

“Well, I would like to see you, but I don’t want to inconvenience you.”

“It’s no trouble. I’m already all dolled up for you, and I can run down to Bee Creek – or do I need to get you in Williamsburg?” asked Polly.

“No, I can wait here. There’s some old store, I’m in the parking lot. You sure it’s no trouble?” Tab can sound polite when he needs to.

“No trouble at all. I’m just getting dressed, and it will take me 10 minutes to drive there, so give me 15. Does that work?”

“Yes, that would be great, Polly, thank you so much. You already made my evening. See you in 15 minutes.”

“See you then,” said Polly.

Polly pulled on her dress, straightened herself in the bedroom mirror. Grabbing two condoms from the drawer in the bedside table, she placed them in her purse. Then she grabbed her keys and headed out the door.

 

 

 

3 Comments on “Resurrection 34”

  1. Nice foreshadowing, feels very creepy…I’m dreading what’s coming

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

