THANK YOU – NaNoWriMo Diary – Day 9

I just surpassed 25,000 words so I am halfway there.

Though I guess it might take more than 50,000 words. Who knows. But at least I’m halfway to 50,000.

Some thoughts I’ve had today…

When I’ve written short-form fiction of 1,000 words or less, from start to finish, typically takes me a couple hours. I strain over the words.

This spring when Meg and I wrote eDecption, I had to come up with about 1,000 words every other week. Between writing, phone calls and learning, each chapter I wrote took three to four hours.

(You can download a free copy of it in PDF form here. I’ve heard it’s good…)

When I signed up for NaNo, I was thinking it was an almost impossible task. I imagined banging on my laptop on Thanksgiving, wedged somewhere on the full table between the Turkey and Cranberry sauce.

I started slowly, writing as I had always written.

Maybe you can relate.

As I wrote, I kept reminding myself this is a rough draft. Even though I’m publishing the chapters as I create them, it will be a few more months past November before I truly complete a final. That gave me the freedom to write quickly and get the story out there.

So the story is moving along. The cool thing is before I started writing a little before 5am this morning, I read through the story so far. It’s not bad. Even Waco texted me last night to tell me how much she is enjoying it.

Many of you have emailed and commented telling me you enjoy the story so far and I do truly appreciate the encouragement. It means a great deal.

Thank you.

5 Comments on “THANK YOU – NaNoWriMo Diary – Day 9”

  1. Keep on keepin’ on. šŸ˜ƒšŸ‘šŸ»

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m impressed with how quickly you have found your stride with this. Don’t let up! I am a little behind in my reading but I got to chapter 20 the other night and am really enjoying your work.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Ian. It took me several chapters to stop trying to find the right words and just get the story on page. I reread the whole thing yesterday before I started writing and feel the story lines are solid and the writing is “good enough” that a rewrite/edit will be possible.

      Thank you for taking the time to read and for your encouragement. I appreciate it.

      Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

