NaNoWriMo Diary, Day 6

Just finished up for the weekend, just 26 words shy of 15,000. I gotta say, three days ago I was feeling pretty hopeless. I decided I would just write and not worry too much about word count.

So I didn’t. I just wrote.

Writing fiction for me is not usually fun. It is work. 1,000 words can take me two hours or more, trying to craft phrases, create complex characters.

Starting yesterday I decided just to write and not worry too much about whether I was going to have to go back and rewrite.

An amazing thing happened: I wrote several thousand words and it was fun. I enjoyed it.

I don’t think the writing is particularly good. I think it’s good enough to be ready for an edit with some rewrites once the 50,000 word draft is done.

That’s probably going to be December/January.

10 Comments on “NaNoWriMo Diary, Day 6”

  1. ron877 says:

    Always encouraging (in a negative sort of way) to read of the travail of others. I have the same sort of problem and time requirements for 1000 words.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think it’s a good exercise for me. I have many good exercises in writing fiction this year. It’s important for me to learn to write a solid volume of words. I tend to write in short bursts.

      Like

  2. Meg Sorick says:

    No more distractions! Today I get down to business.

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

