Why I hate NaNoWriMo

I am struggling today. My goal is to get another 2,200 words or so done and hit 5,000.

But that’s the problem. I have written 30,000 words in a week in non-fiction, and I’m confident I could put down 2,200 words of fiction tonight.

But it will suck. I am struggling between writing quickly and writing well. I want to write something people will enjoy, that will stir them emotionally. I don’t simply want to write something “longer than I have written before.”

Well, back at it. If you have any sage advice, feel free to share.

Edit: I think I am going to do something I decided not to do before I started. I am going to create a better outline. I put down some things I want to have happen, some scenes I want to create, but not a section by section story arc and sub-story arcs. I think that might help. How can I manipulate my readers emotions without them?

6 Comments on “Why I hate NaNoWriMo”

  1. Meg Sorick says:

    You know what I’ve discovered after writing a couple of chapters? Not only do I need that list of events that I told you about (because I am semi-pantsing this) but I need to know where each chapter is going to begin and end. So at the start of the next one, I take a few minutes and make another little list of events that will occur and how it will come to resolution. That being said, I might explode….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You got this! Just hang in there đŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I feel your pain. Yesterday I was writing meaningful sentences and today it feels like gibberish. I know where I want things to go and how I’m going to get there but my characters are becoming rather stiff and awkward. I have a stack of blank index cards I bought today to scribble character notes on and I am currently sliding them around my dining room table like one of those toy puzzles to give me a visual on how I am grouping people together. I feel like one of those CSI people trying to solve a crime. This is probably a weird way to achieve structure but it’s helping. Keep tapping those keys! đŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve said elsewhere I get a bit myopic writing this stuff. Seeing the characters, thinking about the characters for hours on end makes me think “this is boring, these characters are boring.”

      AND I DO THE INDEX CARD THING TOO. I also use it for plot notes. Each character has his or her own arc, backstory, psychology.

      Anxious to see your finished product.

      Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

