Seeing

Seeing You

I try to understand the words you’re not saying,
the soul buried deep beneath the veneer of smiles and laughter,
avoiding my gaze that sees you in spite of yourself.

Hiding is an art for you, a skill from a lifetime of practice.
You only reveal to others what you want them to see.
The confident, the wise, the controlled.

Somehow I read the tea leaves. Seeing glimpses of real.
The distance of text messages and phone calls made it easier.
No eyes on you.

Gradually you let me in. Testing the waters. Scared yet hoping.
Someone who might see you, love you as you are.
Yet waiting for the second shoe to drop.

You surrendered your body, but it was just a body.
You had surrendered it once before without being seen.
An anonymous placeholder.

We navigated together the revelations.
The hurt. The misunderstandings.
Mishearing words never spoken.

“You only pursue me because I run” you said.
Not realizing the truth:
I pursue you because I see you.

 

 

13 Comments on “Seeing”

  1. Meg Sorick says:

    That’s the risk… Having someone really ‘see’ you and decide they don’t like it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like this a lot, Fictional Kevin! 😀 great job! The weekend will be here before you know it! At least, I hope – big plans, and they begin on Friday evening! 😜

    Liked by 1 person

  3. likethelamp says:

    Oh I so understand that last line. It is powerful and scary and wonderful. I just found your blog and am enjoying your writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. EnglishLitGeek says:

    Reblogged this on English Lit Geek and commented:
    Someone who might see you, love you as you are.

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

