Texting

Late Night Texting

August 29, 2014, weeks before they ever met in real life.

Him: But that’s the problem – and this might sting a little – no you can’t. I enjoy you, I think maybe I could fall in love with you, but I don’t know yet. But hear me out before you throw your phone or whatever… 12:38 AM
Her: “We accept the love we think we deserve” 12:39 AM
Him: You wanna know what guy gets a reputation as a “heartbreaker” (or more recently) a “chickenshit”? A guy who is easy to like (or love) too soon, too much. I’m that guy. I don’t want to be that guy any more. It’s far too much pressure. Casual dating becomes so much more so quickly, long before I’m ready for it. 12:40 AM
Her: If I only walk into Mc Donald’s, kiss you like you’ve kissed me virtually, then walk out… 12:41 AM
Him: I hope you can hear what I am saying and not let it become something different. I want to get to know you. I enjoy our talks, chats, etc. bit I need time. Maybe I need more time than you. 12:42 AM
Her: Don’t you even want to know? 12:42 AM
Him: Explain to me what you think my reaction would be to the McD’s thing? 12:44 AM
Her: You’d follow me out…and all the workers would cheer ; ) 12:45 AM
Him: If you walked out, I would be fine with letting you. Haven’t you figured that out about me yet? 12:48 AM
Her: No. 12:48 AM
Him: You want to know I’m safe – that I’m there with you forever. It’s simple: I will worship you for the rest of my life if I just fall in love with you. 12:49 AM

Then He fell in love…

14 Comments on “Texting”

  1. olganm says:

    Very effective. And love the last line đŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. I’m pretty happy about the last line too.

      Edit: Just in case you don’t know, this is not fiction. I forget when I write these things people often don’t realize. The posts tagged Waco are about my evolving relationship with a girl from Texas transplanted to Chattanooga. We’ve been talking since August 5, 2014. This is one of our texts.

      Like

  2. You saved your texts from 2014?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Deb says:

    Always beautiful seeing love form and grow! Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

