Double Seduction 3

Double Seduction

Dr. Meg and I are writing a little novella we hope you will enjoy and keep you in suspense. I wrote the first chapter, she wrote the second. The third is below.



Chapter 3 – Bait

Google has a motto: Don’t be evil. Unfortunately the saying didn’t apply to David.

David learned how to track down almost anyone’s complete personal details with the most meager information. He looked on it as a puzzle-I have this person’s name, what else can I find out about them?

He had her full name – Melody Rivers. From her blog he knew she was a Chiropractor, divorced, liked to run. Lived alone. Worked from home. Now with her email, he could find out far more.

He typed her email address into Google. Four pages of results, all about the “right” Melody Rivers. He had Googled her name previously, but the name was common enough it was difficult to figure out if he had the “right” one.

Google gave him insight into Mel. She lived in Philly, right on Bryn Mawr Ave. That was a surprise. His tiny apartment was in Olney just a half-hour from her. He found her LinkedIn. Seems she just started a new practice a couple years ago.  According to public records she was married to “Jack” and they got divorced about the same time.

All useful information.

He then moved over to Facebook, using her email to find her profile.

Her profile was private, but he was stunned by her profile picture. Long, brown hair. Pretty face. Her cover picture showed her along side a group of women at Stonehenge. She looked athletic.

“She’s hot” David said to the empty apartment.

He had learned enough to proceed and she was attractive enough for him to enjoy the effort. He called up her email and read it again. It sounded a little like notes girls pass to guys in high school. Guys they like and wanted to like them.

She was vulnerable. David began setting his trap.

Dear Melody,

It’s great to connect with you personally and privately . I’ve enjoyed our back and forth on the blogs, but it’s nice to be able to send messages just the two of us see.

“…personally and privately…” “…just the two of us…” These would communicate ideas he wanted to inject into her mind in a non-threatening way. She was captivated at this point, their covert flirting made that obvious, but she could also be scared away.

You know, from what I’ve read and the comments you’ve made, you’re impressive. Smart. Funny. Accomplished. There aren’t many people like you – I suspect you know that already, even though you’d never admit it.

He thought about adding a smiley face then decided against it.

I’d be interested in learning more about you. Where did you grow up? When and why did you start writing? Do you enjoy travelling?

For my part: I grew up in New York. I started writing fresh out of college and ended up writing advertising. Now I get to do that most days. I work from home so I can live anywhere and chose to live in Pennsylvania.

I enjoy travel. I’ve been to Machu Picchu, Moscow (long story there), The Virgin Islands, Paris, Italy. My next trip is to visit my ancestral home in England. 

While he did live in Pennsylvania, none of the rest was true. The “England” reference would capture her attention and get her talking about her trip to Stonehenge.

I enjoy running a few miles several days a week, lift weights. For fun I write music, play guitar and hang out with my friends. Savannah keeps me busy as well.

David could barely “run” to his refrigerator, and the heaviest thing he had lifted recently was a beer. He did play guitar for a few weeks in High School, decided it was too hard and quit. There were no friends and certainly no “Savannah.”

Speaking of S, I could use some advice. I am planning a special day with Savannah. In truth, you seem to be very similar personalities.  She’s pretty, smart, funny…

He threw the “pretty” in there as a concealed way to say Mel was pretty. He was sure it wouldn’t be lost on her.

…but also sensitive and empathetic. She enjoys romance. So here’s my question: If I…

No, that’s not going to work. Too threatening. He needed to say “someone”.

…if someone were to design the perfect romantic day for you, what would you want him to do? I’d be interested to know, might give me some ideas!

Well, I have to run. Literally, I haven’t run yet today. I just don’t feel right until I’ve gotten in my 3 miles.

Thanks again for connecting, look forward to hearing back from you.

Sweet Dreams,

David

David was proud of himself. He hit all the high points. She would be drawn in. He was especially proud of the question-Mel would now tell him exactly what she finds romantic.

That was information Google couldn’t provide.

Now it was time for him to set up an identity, complete with phone number and pictures, he could share with Mel when she inevitably took the bait.

He finished his last beer and went blearily to bed. He thought about her long legs and lithe body as he drifted off.

 

46 Comments on “Double Seduction 3”

  1. Reblogged this on Meg Sorick writes (better than she dresses) and commented:
    Fictional Kevin and I are collaborating on a novella of suspense, each of us alternating the chapters. Here is Chapter 3, written by Kevin. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. drshellking says:

    This character is savvy, and reading it made me a little paranoid.
    Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Bravo What a great volley by Fictional Kevin. Oh, Meg it’s your turn now. David set the bait, so interested in seeing where this is headed. I was just starting at my blog email and this notification popped in. Perfect timing. Your turn Meg… Great job Kevin.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I’m glad to see you cleaned up all those typos.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. The creep! I am waiting for the next bit to this juicy story.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Very interesting. I’m dying to see where this storyline goes!, as are you, I’m sure…Good job, bro!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. OK, from now on, I am never sharing my email address with anyone I meet on the internet! This one creeps me out, like seriously!
    Great writing, by the way! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This is, well…(searching for the right word) brilliant! haha! Sorting through all those e-mails must be a pain. -Thought about inserting a winky face in here, but refrained!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Wandering Soul says:

    This is an intriguing read. I like the back and forth between you and Dr. Sorick, and the alternate perspectives. she already knows as a writer what David is thinking, so it would be fun to see how Melody responds.

    Must remember to steer clear of all guys who find me smart and funny 😀 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  10. This guy is such a creep. I’m thinking about asking Apple to search his phone records! The writing works!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. […] Double Seduction.  If you missed the opening chapters, find them here:  Chapter One, Chapter Two, Chapter Three.  And […]

    Liked by 1 person

  12. […] hope you will enjoy and keep you in suspense. I wrote the first chapter, she wrote the second. The third is here. To read the fourth and comment, go to Meg’s blog by clicking […]

    Like

  13. Deb says:

    This is so brilliant it killed any hopes I had for online dating! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. […] hope you will enjoy and keep you in suspense. I wrote the first chapter, she wrote the second. The third is here. To read the fourth, go here. The fifth installment is […]

    Like

  15. […] Double Seduction. If you missed the opening chapters, find them here: Chapter One, Chapter Two, Chapter Three, Chapter Four, Chapter Five.  And […]

    Liked by 1 person

  16. […] hope you will enjoy and keep you in suspense. I wrote the first chapter, she wrote the second. The third is here. To read the fourth, go here. The fifth installment is here. Go to her blog to read the sixth […]

    Like

  17. […] hope you will enjoy and keep you in suspense. I wrote the first chapter, she wrote the second. The third is here. To read the fourth, go here. The fifth installment is here. Read the sixth installment by […]

    Like

  18. […] we hope you are enjoying. If you missed the opening chapters, find them here: Chapter One, Two, Three, Four, Five, Six and Seven. And […]

    Liked by 1 person

  19. […] hope you will enjoy and keep you in suspense. I wrote the first chapter, she wrote the second. The third is here. To read the fourth, go here. The fifth installment is here. Read the sixth installment by […]

    Liked by 1 person

  20. […] hope you will enjoy and keep you in suspense. I wrote the first chapter, she wrote the second. The third is here. To read the fourth, go here. The fifth installment is here. Read the sixth installment by […]

    Like

  21. […] hope you will enjoy and keep you in suspense. I wrote the first chapter, she wrote the second. The third is here. To read the fourth, go here. The fifth installment is here. Read the sixth installment by […]

    Like

  22. […] hope you will enjoy and keep you in suspense. I wrote the first chapter, she wrote the second. The third is here. To read the fourth, go here. The fifth installment is here. Read the sixth installment by […]

    Like

  23. […] hope you will enjoy and keep you in suspense. I wrote the first chapter, she wrote the second. The third is here. To read the fourth, go here. The fifth installment is here. Read the sixth installment by […]

    Like

  24. […] hope you will enjoy and keep you in suspense. I wrote the first chapter, she wrote the second. The third is here. To read the fourth, go here. The fifth installment is here. Read the sixth installment by […]

    Like

  25. […] hope you will enjoy and keep you in suspense. I wrote the first chapter, she wrote the second. The third is here. To read the fourth, go here. The fifth installment is here. Read the sixth installment by […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

