Riley

A year ago today, after years of ravaged body leaving him blind and deaf, Waco’s friends’ son passed away. It was not unexpected, but it was sudden. Today I felt inspired to write a piece based on some of the impressions those who loved him shared with me.

___________________

In darkness.
In silence.
He still had joy.

Disease ravaged.
Words distorted.
He still spoke joy.

Every touch.
Every smell.
He still sensed joy.

Today memories.
Smile not forgotten.
He still brings joy.

4 Comments on “Riley”

  1. Sad, yet stunning, Sir. Thank you for sharing. My thoughts and prayers go out to the family today. XOXO

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Simple with deep thoughts and feelings. When my Dad died, I composed Frozen Silence as I walked the high school track in the morning darkness. Walking triggers my creativity. Thanks for sharing your talents with us.

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

