On Better Writing

Learning to Write

I am learning.

The learning curve for gaining competence in writing goes something like this:

  • Unconscious incompetence – I don’t know I don’t know how to write well.
  • Conscious incompetence – I know I don’t know how to write well.
  • Conscious competence – I can write well if I concentrate hard enough.
  • Unconscious competence – I write well.

Right now when it comes to fiction I am somewhere between the second and third.

 

 

9 Comments on “On Better Writing”

  1. literally says:

    Reblogged this on literallylaurie and commented:
    Great words

    Liked by 1 person

  2. drshellking says:

    I write a lot of crap. But at least I write, and there are people reading what I’ve written.
    As an educator, if only one person “gets it” I’ve fulfilled my purpose. That’s a satisfying position and is well worth the effort.

    Liked by 1 person

    • fictionalkevin says:

      Good points. I was thinking we should have coffee or something soon – or make sure to sit together at Barley’s. Are you up for either? You can email me FictionalKevin at Gmail

      Like

  3. I DEFINITELY know I don’t know how to write. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

