My Writing Partner

Waco's Dog Benz

Benz is sick.

Benz is Waco‘s dog. Over the last year I’ve grown to know him, love him. That’s him in the pic above.

We had our struggles. He didn’t like me giving attention to Waco. In his mind, she belonged to him. We negotiated a settlement: He (and Troy Aikman) get her when I’m in Knoxville and we “share” her when I’m in Chattanooga.

We learned to respect one another as worthy adversaries. Plus I give him treats, so there’s that.

On days I work in Chattanooga, Benz accompanies me to the deck. On chillier days he’ll lay in the sun, clad in his sweater.

Benz on the Deck in his Sweater

Warmer days. he’s content to sit by me on the love seat.

Benz got sick this last week. He’s 13 years old and getting sick at his advanced age can be tough. He’s at the vet’s as I write this. It started out looking bleak, but it looks like he’ll pull through again.

That dog is made of iron.

I lost my dog several years ago and between a divorce, moving, business hadn’t gotten a new one yet. Benz fills a void in my life.

Waco loves Benz. Since her divorce and with her kids on their own, he has been her roommate, friend, confident and co-conspirator. They snuggle in bed and watch Dateline and Game of Thrones together.

Waco has children and friends, and Benz is much a part of her family.

I hate to think about Benz leaving us. It will be incredibly hard on her and her children and even on me.

Fortunately, this time, it looks like he will beat death once again.

I’m not a praying man, but if you are, you might want to shoot up a little petition. Benz and Waco would appreciate it.

 

 

9 Comments on “My Writing Partner”

  1. drshellking says:

    As another person who has a close relationship with my own canine companions, I feel your angst. My thoughts are with you and with Benz.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hope Benz recovers quickly and provides many more years as your muse

    Liked by 1 person

  3. drshellking says:

    Reblogged this on Hereticdoc and commented:
    As a long time dog lover, I can feel the angst of the author in this article, having been through the aging process many times with my own canine companions. This brief shout out spoke to me, bringing back too many experiences, and too many feelings of torment and sorrow for which the author and his canine companion are enduring. It is well worth the read.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. nugget59 says:

    I have a 14 year old beagle who has been a great companion over the years. It’s very hard to imagine her not being here. I hope your Benz is on the mend and with you for some time yet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • fictionalkevin says:

      Dogs are wonderful companions.

      Picked Benz up at the vet today. He goes back in a couple weeks for blood work, just to be sure. Right now it looks as if he is fine.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. mitchteemley says:

    Prayer in progress.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. […] folder on his computer and paced through pics of Her.  Her eyes. Her smile. Her kids. Benz. That pic She made for him on a dare. Her with friends. Ugly Christmas sweaters. Joe Bonamassa. […]

    Like

  7. […] Benz is back from two stays at the doggie hospital. He’s Waco‘s long-term companion and my friend, romantic adversary and writing partner. […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

