How Picasso Informs Good Writing

Picasso's Study of a Bull

I am trying to be a better writer. You may be as well. I have found Picasso’s lithographs of a bull helpful.

In the series he takes a realistic bull and gradually removes everything not essential to the bull. The end is a simplistic (versus simple) line drawing. But, though simplistic, there is no doubt it is a bull.

I want to write in such a way the essence of the story or theme is all that remains. Removing the extraneous. Removing the asides (I have a problem with those).

Not repeating my themes again and again. Trusting the reader to “see” the story and flesh out the bull in his/her mind.

Less words, more meaning.

16 Comments on “How Picasso Informs Good Writing”

  1. LOVE THIS!! Perfect lesson in writing . 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. drshellking says:

    I recently read, or, er something or something that speaks to this subject, only it was far too wordy for my taste. Excellent job.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Rita says:

    This is fabulous. I won’t even try to be a writer. You, however are among the gifted and I admire that gift.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. […] is an experiment. I am attempting to get the essence of a story without the extraneous. Trust the reader to fill in the blanks. This is the original at almost […]

    Liked by 1 person

  5. […] is an experiment. I am attempting to get the essence of a story without the extraneous. Trust the reader to fill in the blanks. The original (you can read here) […]

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a fabulous post. So well done. I could surely use fewer words in this upcoming year. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

