Denial

Denial

Last night I was texting with Waco.

As I mentioned in a previous post, she is dealing with some chronic health issues. She is amazingly strong and refuses to let those issues determine the course of her life. She has consistently chosen to push through whatever happens and live a happy, successful, fulfilling life.

But lately, those issues have been tough. Last night she declared: “I refuse to be limited!”

And she won’t be. She’s tough, determined, persistent and appropriately selfish. She’s also beautiful inside and out. I’ve been fortunate to have her in my life for the last year, to see her as she is.

But we also talked about reality. There is no magic bullet for her. She will have to make choices to maintain the life she enjoys long-term.

This morning, it got me thinking. Thinking about ways I procrastinate in life. Ways I pretend reality isn’t real. How I am spending my future happiness by not making the payments today.

Denial is a subtle liar. It seduces you into not making a somewhat difficult choice today even though the consequences will be paid with compound interest. Denial always whispers its alluring lies in the present, the only time we can take action, while lulling us into the warm comfort of “I’ll do that hard thing tomorrow, I’ll have plenty of time and health and energy and wealth then.”

Cats Cradle – only we’re our own fathers.

The run I don’t take today. The money I don’t save. The time I don’t spend building a relationship. The action I don’t take. These all live in the present but butterfly affect the future. My future can be sick and poor and alone. My future can be healthy and wealthy and full of love.

Today don’t call me between 9:30 and 10:30 – I’ll be on my run.

2 Comments on “Denial”

  1. Beautiful, Sir. This made me smile at the end of a very rough day, so thank you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

