Real

What is Real?

What is “real”?

Are the organic, free-range thoughts I got at Trader Joe’s more “real” than the genetically modified, preservative packed thoughts I got from Walmarts?

Are my smiles, my words, my actions just an affectation? An attempt to wear the Emperor’s clothes?

Getting real is a virtue, until it is not. Until it is too uncomfortable. Too divulgent. Until being real breaks the social norms of no tears, no fears, no anger. Professing love or lust or hate.

We wear our mental Spanks to cover up the unsightly bulges we’re ashamed for anyone to see. We look in the mirror and tell ourselves “sure, they’re uncomfortable to wear, but, damn, they make me look good.”

And it becomes our uniform.

14 Comments on “Real”

  1. Yes a million times. Especially to this: “Getting real is a virtue, until it is not. Until it is too uncomfortable. Too divulgent. Until being real breaks the social norms of no tears, no fears, no anger.”

    Liked by 3 people

    • fictionalkevin says:

      Thank you. I appreciate it. I’m also glad you’ve recovered from the comments I made on yours. Though I had to bite my fingers as I responded here to not throw in errant commas, capitals and homonyms.

      And, yes, I did know my last “sentence” was a fragment. You’re welcome.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. KasimsKorner says:

    Wow this was a nice piece… Very poetic and thought provoking. Well done and keep writing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “mental Spanks”! Love it! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “We wear our mental Spanks to cover up the unsightly bulges we’re ashamed for anyone to see.” – I LOVE this metaphor! So perfect 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. A reminder to be vulnerable. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Albeit, you are perfect, I am not. However, I say fuck the Spanks. You are going to get me bulges and all. I LOVE the idea of mental Spanks, but the real thing sucks! 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

